poco a poco

Andador

Andador Turistico, San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas

I can’t think of anything that excites a greater sense of childlike wonder than to be in a country where you are ignorant of almost everything.  Suddenly you are five years old again.  You can’t read anything, you only have the most rudimentary sense of how things work, you can’t even reliably cross a street without endangering your life.  Your whole existence becomes a series of interesting guesses.  -Bill Bryson, Neither Here Nor There (1993)

As expected, learning to communicate in Spanish is proving to be both the most challenging and rewarding aspect of my experiences in Mexico thus far, even amongst all the other challenges and rewards of traveling and adapting to a new culture.  And I’m beginning to catch on, poco a poco, or little by little.

Now that we’ve settled into our apartment (temporarily, of course) in San Cristobal de las Casas, I’m preparing to to spend the next month working to improve my Spanish at Sol Maya Language & Arts School.  Wish me luck!

