and more spanish lessons…

proyecto peru

There’s no question that prior to beginning our trip I underestimated how difficult it would be to learn a new language.  Like many people I thought that once I spent some time in Spanish speaking countries I would start to pick up the language and be able to communicate, as simple as that.  Of course, that’s true to an extent but my goals for effectively communicating in Spanish reach beyond my being able to pay for the bus or locate the bathroom.  For the past several weeks I’ve been awake and out the door by 8am for my daily lessons at Proyecto Peru and it was a real confidence booster on the first day of class when my teacher, after speaking with me for a few minutes, left the room to exchange the workbooks she had brought for a more advanced level.  Although, the real test of what I’ve learned while traveling will come at the end of our trip when we’re back in Mexico City with Carlos’ family. 

Aside from Peru another popular location to study Spanish in South America is Argentina.  Except that in Argentina Spanish is spoken with a strong accent – one that my teachers are always jokingly trying to imitate – and my learning Spanish in Argentina would be kind of like being taught to speak with a speech impediment to the rest of the Spanish speaking world.  Instead, I’ve decided on more lessons when we arrive back in Mexico.  With the end of our travels quickly approaching I’ve found myself thinking about the possibility of teaching English in Mexico.  Knowing the challenges I’ve faced, I think I might enjoy being on the other side of the desk for a change and sharing in someone else’s satisfaction when it all finally makes sense.  Fortunately, there’s a recommended TEFL training program in Guadalajara and no shortage of job opportunities for native speaking English teachers south of the border.

