Islas Flotantes

uros

Off the coast of Lake Titicaca the Islas Flotantes, or Floating Islands, of the Uros people are built using layers of the buoyant totora reeds that grow abundantly in the lake.  The reeds are constantly replenished from the top down as they rot away and the ground is always soft and springy.  These days the islands have become shockingly commercialized and a tour to visit them is little more than an opportunity to purchase crafts from the islanders.

1 Response to “Islas Flotantes”


  1. 1 JimmyBean October 1, 2009 at 11:54 am

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean


Comments are currently closed.




